Review

YNAB Review

The annual plan's price, the trial route, the bank-import limits, and four rival budgets priced on the same 12-month basis.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 4 alternatives covered
TL;DR

YNAB is worth $109 a year when you will plan every dollar before you spend it and your bank is on YNAB's direct import list. The monthly plan is $14.99, which adds up to $179.88 over twelve months, so pay monthly only if you might leave inside the year. Prices are in US dollars, plus tax where it applies.

Skip it for a side business that needs its own books, because the pricing and homepage pages say nothing about business accounting. Skip it too if your bank is off the import list and you will not type transactions by hand, since that typing is a cost the subscription does not cover.

For a free start, EveryDollar's free version costs nothing and uses manual entry. Monarch Money Core is $99.99 a year, which is $9.01 less than YNAB's annual plan. Copilot Money lists $95 a year, and Quicken Simplifi lists $6.99 a month billed annually.

Key factsBest for: Budgeters who will plan every dollar and update the plan…
  • Updated: October 16, 2026
  • Best for: Budgeters who will plan every dollar and update the plan each week.
  • Price as of October 16, 2026: $109/yr or $14.99/mo, plus tax; 34-day trial with no card on ynab.com
  • A paid budgeting app with a planning-first method, direct import on select banks and a plan shareable with up to six people.
  • Annual plan: Billed once a year, plus tax
  • Monthly over a year: $179.88, $70.88 more than annual
  • Free trial: 34 days on ynab.com, no card
  • Shared plan: Up to six people

Pros

  • Annual billing saves $70.88 against twelve months of the monthly plan, so budget the annual figure.
  • A direct signup gets the 34-day trial with no card, and YNAB says nothing is charged unless you subscribe.
  • One subscription can cover up to six people per YNAB's FAQ, so a couple or a small family pays once.

Cons

  • No free tier: the Toolradar listing describes YNAB as paid only, with no permanently free version.
  • Banks off the direct import list need manual entry, and no per-account fee is published to price that time.
  • The pricing and homepage pages mention no business accounting, investment tracking or AI assistant.
Annual planBilled once a year, plus tax
Monthly over a year$179.88, $70.88 more than annual
Free trial34 days on ynab.com, no card
Shared planUp to six people

Price the whole stack, not the sticker. The sticker is the annual price, but a year of YNAB also includes tax, the trial route you pick, the monthly premium if you choose it, and every transaction your bank does not import.

Those four items decide whether the annual plan beats a free app for your household.

Toolradar data: the October 2026 personal finance ranking in the directory we run tracks 69 tools.

EveryDollar is the only one of the five budgets priced here with a free version.

Methodology: on 10 October 2026 we read the USD pricing pages for YNAB, Monarch Money, EveryDollar, Copilot Money and Quicken Simplifi.

Each is compared on one subscription, over twelve months, before tax. Monarch Plus stays out of the cost table, which prices Core, and first-year offers sit beside the regular price.

What is YNAB?

YNAB is a budgeting app built on one rule: plan every dollar before you spend it. The homepage describes the same step as making a flexible plan for what your money should do, and it lists goal setting, multi-device sync and bank account integration.

It also lists subscription sharing, which the FAQ below covers.

The homepage lists iOS, Android and web apps. Direct import covers select US, Canadian, UK and EU banks, and Plaid provides the account connection as YNAB's agent.

Banks outside that list need manual entry. The pricing pages publish no per-account fee for either route, so the cost of manual entry is your time, not a line on the bill.

Two gaps matter for a finance buyer. The homepage names no AI assistant, and neither the homepage nor the pricing page mentions investment tracking or business accounting. Check both before you pay, because a side business still needs its own ledger.

How YNAB works

The trial is the cheapest test you will run. A direct signup on ynab.com opens 34 days with no card, and YNAB says there is no need to cancel and that you will not be charged unless you subscribe.

Third-party app stores can ask for a card at signup, so start on the website if you want to avoid a payment method.

After the trial you choose monthly or annual. Annual is the cheaper of the two, plus tax where it applies, and monthly costs more over a year.

Prices stay in US dollars, exchange rates are not reflected, and a spending plan takes one currency only. A household paid in another currency has to pick one currency for the whole budget.

The work is weekly. You assign money to categories, then you record spending as it happens.

A budget you stop updating is worth nothing, so the real cost of YNAB is the weekly session, not the fee. The 34-day trial is long enough to see whether that habit holds.

YNAB key features

Plan before you spendEssential
The app is built on planning every dollar before it leaves the account. That habit is the product, so a buyer who only wants a read-only dashboard pays for a method they will not use.
Direct import on select banksEssential
Select US, Canadian, UK and EU banks connect directly, and Plaid provides the connection as YNAB's agent. Other banks need manual entry, and no per-account fee is published for either route.
One subscription for up to six people
YNAB's FAQ says the plan can be shared with partners, families and close groups of up to six people. Check at signup whether the subscriber counts toward that number.
34-day trial without a card
A direct signup on ynab.com gives 34 days with no card, and YNAB says you will not be charged unless you subscribe. App store signups can require a card.
USD pricing, one currency per plan
Prices are in US dollars and exchange rates are not reflected. A spending plan takes a single currency, so a household paid in another currency must choose one.
No business or investment pages
The homepage and pricing page mention neither business accounting nor investment tracking, and name no AI assistant. A side business still needs its own ledger.

YNAB pricing

Start with the list price, not the monthly teaser. YNAB's annual plan is $109 a year, which works out to $9.08 a month, and the monthly plan costs more over the year.

Source: YNAB's pricing page, checked 10 October 2026.

Twelve months of the monthly plan comes to $179.88, which is $70.88 more than the annual charge. That gap pays only if you would leave before month twelve.

Tax applies where it is charged, and the rate depends on where you live, so the bill can run above these figures.

Monarch Money's Core plan is $99.99 a year, with a monthly option, on its pricing page, checked the same day.

The page offers 30% off the first year of annual Core with the code WELCOME for new users, and it warns the offer can expire. Thirty percent of the annual price is about $30, which is more than the $9.01 sticker gap, so the code matters if it still works at checkout.

EveryDollar's free version costs nothing and uses manual transaction entry.

Premium is $79.99 a year, or $6.67 a month when billed annually, and $17.99 a month when billed monthly, with a 14-day trial for new users.

Source: EveryDollar pricing on Ramsey Solutions, checked 10 October 2026.

Copilot Money shows $95 billed yearly and a one-month free trial on its homepage, with its Toolradar listing alongside.

The card rule for the trial is not stated. Quicken Simplifi shows $6.99 a month billed annually, and a first-year offer of $3.99 a month for orders placed directly with Quicken by 6 November 2026. The offer covers the first year only, so budget the regular rate from year two.

Source: Quicken Simplifi pricing, checked 10 October 2026.

PlanPriceBest for
YNAB annual$109/yrOne subscription for up to six people, plus tax where it applies
YNAB monthly$14.99/moSame app on a monthly bill, $179.88 over twelve months
Monarch Money Core, annual$99.99/yrCode WELCOME takes 30% off the first year for new users, and may expire
Monarch Money Core, monthly$14.99/moCore billed monthly, with the first week free according to the page
EveryDollar freeFreeMonthly budget, unlimited categories, sinking funds, manual transaction entry
EveryDollar Premium, annual$79.99/yr$6.67 a month when billed annually, after a 14-day trial for new users
EveryDollar Premium, monthly$17.99/moPremium billed month to month, with no annual commitment
Copilot Money, annual$95/yrBilled yearly, one-month free trial on the homepage, card rule not stated
Quicken Simplifi, annual billing$6.99/moBilled annually; first-year offer of $3.99 a month for orders by 6 November 2026

YNAB pros and cons

What we like

  • Annual billing saves $70.88 against twelve months of the monthly plan, so budget the annual figure.
  • A direct signup gets the 34-day trial with no card, and YNAB says nothing is charged unless you subscribe.
  • One subscription can cover up to six people per YNAB's FAQ, so a couple or a small family pays once.

What could be better

  • No free tier: the Toolradar listing describes YNAB as paid only, with no permanently free version.
  • Banks off the direct import list need manual entry, and no per-account fee is published to price that time.
  • The pricing and homepage pages mention no business accounting, investment tracking or AI assistant.

Who YNAB is for

YNAB fits one earner or a couple who will update the plan every week and want the bank to feed the transactions. The plan covers up to six people, so a family pays once.

For the Monarch side of the decision, read the Monarch Money review, and for a side-by-side take, the YNAB vs Monarch comparison.

The Monarch Money listing on Toolradar shows the directory view.

Skip YNAB if your bank is off the import list and you will not type. Skip it for a side business that needs books.

A household that wants forecasting or investment views should look at Monarch Plus, which the pricing page describes next to Core. The AI for personal finance guide lists the risks to check before linking any budget app to a bank.

The EveryDollar free version is the cheapest way to test a plan without a bill.

Copilot Money suits Apple-only buyers on its yearly plan, and Quicken Simplifi suits buyers who can take the first-year offer. This review does not cover bank connections for Copilot Money or Simplifi, so confirm them at signup.

Best YNAB alternatives

If YNAB is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
YNABBudgeters who will plan every dollar and update the plan each week.$109/yr or $14.99/mo, plus taxVisit →
Monarch MoneyBuyers who want the cheaper annual plan and may grow into forecasting.Core $99.99/yr or monthly billingVisit →
EveryDollarAnyone who wants a planned budget without paying, and will enter transactions by hand.Free versionVisit →
Copilot MoneyApple-only households who want an automated app and will pay yearly.$95/yr billed yearlyVisit →
Quicken SimplifiBuyers who will sign up directly with Quicken before 6 November 2026 for the first-year price.$6.99/mo billed annuallyVisit →
Lowest published monthly price by toolBar chart of the lowest monthly price each vendor publishes; the same figures are in the comparison table above.Lowest published monthly priceYNAB$14.99EveryDollar$6.67Quicken Simplifi$3.99
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. 2 of 5 do not publish a comparable monthly price and are left out rather than estimated.
Monarch Money
A subscription budget with a lower annual Core price and a Plus tier that adds forecasting and deeper investment views.
Visit →
EveryDollar
A zero-based budgeting app with a free version on manual entry and a paid Premium tier.
Visit →
Copilot Money
An Apple-first budget app with iPhone, iPad, Mac and web apps, and no Android app listed on its homepage.
Visit →
Quicken Simplifi
A subscription budget whose headline price is a first-year offer, with the regular price shown beside it.
Visit →

The bottom line

Buy YNAB annual if you will plan money every week, your bank is on the import list, and one annual bill on one card is acceptable. Choose monthly only for a short test, because twelve months of it costs more than the annual plan.

Start with the 34-day trial on ynab.com, not an app store, so no card is needed.

Try EveryDollar's free version first if cost is the only question. Monarch Money is the cheaper annual plan, and Plus adds forecasting for households that want it.

For the wider shelf, see the best budgeting apps roundup, the Monarch vs Copilot Money comparison, and the Rocket Money vs Monarch comparison.

This page is general information, not personalized financial advice, so confirm current terms with YNAB before you subscribe.

Cite this: Finpresso, "YNAB Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is YNAB worth it in 2026?

Yes for a budgeter who will plan every dollar each week and whose bank is on YNAB's direct import list. At the annual price plus tax, the annual plan is the one to buy, and the 34-day trial on ynab.com needs no card. Skip it for business accounting, or if your bank is off the import list and you will not type transactions by hand.

How much does YNAB cost in 2026?

YNAB's annual plan works out to $9.08 a month, and the monthly plan costs more over a year, both in US dollars plus tax where it applies. Twelve months of the monthly plan costs $70.88 more than the annual charge. The figures come from YNAB's pricing page, checked 10 October 2026.

Is there a free version of YNAB?

No. YNAB is paid only, with a 34-day free trial on ynab.com and no card required. The Toolradar listing describes it as a paid-only product with no permanently free tier. EveryDollar is the free alternative in this comparison, with a free version that uses manual transaction entry.

Can two people share one YNAB subscription?

Yes. YNAB's FAQ says the subscription can be shared with partners, families and close groups of up to six people. Check whether the subscriber counts toward that limit before you invite a partner.

How does YNAB compare with Monarch Money on price?

Annual Monarch Core is $9.01 less than annual YNAB. Monarch's monthly Core plan matches YNAB's monthly price. Monarch Plus is left out of the cost comparison, which covers Core. The side-by-side on features is in the YNAB vs Monarch comparison.

Is this YNAB review personal financial advice?

No. This page is general information, not personalized financial advice. Prices and trial rules change, so confirm current terms with YNAB before you subscribe.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the Finpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free