Expert Guide

Best Bookkeeping Software for LLCs in 2026

Eight ledgers for a US LLC, from a single-member close to a multi-member or S-corp file, with list prices read in October 2026.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 8 tools compared
TL;DR

Short answer: for a US LLC in 2026, QuickBooks Online is the default, from $38/mo on Simple Start. Use Plus at $140/mo when you need classes or inventory. Xero Growing is $59/mo if several people log in, and Zoho Books Standard is $15/mo on annual billing if your CPA does not require QuickBooks.

FreshBooks Plus is the service-LLC pick once a preparer must log in, because Lite never names that seat. Patriot Accounting Basic is the flat-price pick when payroll sits beside the books.

Wave Starter has no subscription fee when one member can close without a bank feed. OneUp fits when inventory has to be on the first paid seat. Sage 50 Premium is the one-year plan when two companies should share one subscription.

Key facts8 tools compared: QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho Books, FreshBooks, Patriot Accounting, Wave…
  • Updated: October 20, 2026
  • Top pick: QuickBooks Online (best for: US LLCs whose preparer already closes the year in QuickBooks)
  • Top pick price as of October 20, 2026: QuickBooks Online: From $38/mo (Simple Start); Plus is $140/mo. Free has no accountant access.
  • 8 tools compared: QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho Books, FreshBooks, Patriot Accounting, Wave, OneUp, Sage 50
  • Xero (best for: LLCs where several people, including the CPA, need a login): Early $27/mo and Growing $59/mo after a 3-month intro. Unlimited users on every plan.
  • Zoho Books (best for: Small LLCs that can live under the revenue cap or on 3 users): Free under $50,000 revenue; Standard is $15/mo billed annually.
  • FreshBooks (best for: Service LLCs that live in client invoices, not inventory): Lite $23/mo (5 clients). Plus $43/mo with accountant access. Premium $70/mo.

An LLC does not get a special ledger: it needs a file a preparer can open, a balance sheet off the owner's personal accounts, and enough logins for a second member or a bookkeeper.

QuickBooks Online is still the file most US preparers already know, so buy the plan that matches the headcount rather than the logo.

Finpresso data: Toolradar, the software directory we run, tracks 273 accounting tools as of October 16, 2026.

Among the 88 that publish a price, the median cheapest paid plan is $31.67/mo. QuickBooks also drew 434 side-by-side comparisons on Toolradar in the 90 days before that date, more than any other accounting tool we track. That is demand, not a quality score. Prices below were read on vendor pricing pages in October 2026.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

#1 Top pick

QuickBooks Online

The file most US preparers already know, if you buy the plan that matches your logins.

Pricing

From $38/mo (Simple Start); Plus is $140/mo. Free has no accountant access.

Best for

US LLCs whose preparer already closes the year in QuickBooks

#2

Xero

Unlimited users on every plan, but Early's invoice and bill caps end the cheap tier.

Pricing

Early $27/mo and Growing $59/mo after a 3-month intro. Unlimited users on every plan.

Best for

LLCs where several people, including the CPA, need a login

#3

Zoho Books

A free organization while revenue stays under the cap, then a 3-user plan before inventory.

Pricing

Free under $50,000 revenue; Standard is $15/mo billed annually.

Best for

Small LLCs that can live under the revenue cap or on 3 users

Best Bookkeeping Software for LLCs in 2026: 8 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
QuickBooks OnlineFrom $38/mo (Simple Start); Plus is $140/mo. Free has no accountant access.US LLCs whose preparer already closes the year in QuickBooks
XeroEarly $27/mo and Growing $59/mo after a 3-month intro. Unlimited users on every plan.LLCs where several people, including the CPA, need a login
Zoho BooksFree under $50,000 revenue; Standard is $15/mo billed annually.Small LLCs that can live under the revenue cap or on 3 users
FreshBooksLite $23/mo (5 clients). Plus $43/mo with accountant access. Premium $70/mo.Service LLCs that live in client invoices, not inventory
Patriot AccountingBasic $20/mo, Premium $30/mo. 30 days free, then 50% off for 3 months.US LLCs that pay contractors or employees from the same vendor
WaveStarter has no subscription fee. Pro is $19/mo, or $190/year, per business.Single-member LLCs with one company and a simple close
OneUpFrom $9/mo for 1 user and $29/mo for 3. All features on every plan.Small LLCs that want inventory on the first paid seat
Sage 50Pro $132.17/mo (1 user). Premium $182.50/mo (up to 5 users). One-year term.Established LLCs with stock, job costs, or a second company

Pricing read from each vendor's own pricing page, checked Oct 2026. Every vendor here publishes a price.

Lowest published monthly price by toolBar chart of the lowest monthly price each vendor publishes; the same figures are in the comparison table above.Lowest published monthly priceQuickBooks Online$38Xero$27Zoho Books$15FreshBooks$23Patriot Accounting$20Wave$19OneUp$9Sage 50$132.17
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Oct 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. Every tool here publishes a monthly price.
1 QuickBooks Online logo
Top Pick

QuickBooks Online

The file most US preparers already know, if you buy the plan that matches your logins.

Pricing
From $38/mo (Simple Start); Plus is $140/mo. Free has no accountant access.

Best for: US LLCs whose preparer already closes the year in QuickBooks

Pros

  • Simple Start includes 1 billable user and 2 accountant users, enough for a single-member LLC and the firm, but not a second member.
  • Plus adds inventory and 40 combined classes and locations, the tier a multi-member LLC or a second location needs, with 5 billable users.
  • Advanced moves the company to 25 billable users, unlimited classes, and an unlimited chart of accounts, and includes 1099 e-filing through Bill Pay Elite.

Cons

  • The free plan is 1 user, no accountant, 2 invoices a month unless Payments is enabled, and 1 connected bank, so the CPA cannot close on it.
  • Classes and inventory are missing below Plus, and every plan below Advanced caps the chart of accounts at 250.
2 Xero logo

Xero

Unlimited users on every plan, but Early's invoice and bill caps end the cheap tier.

Pricing
Early $27/mo and Growing $59/mo after a 3-month intro. Unlimited users on every plan.

Best for: LLCs where several people, including the CPA, need a login

Pros

  • Every plan includes unlimited general users at no extra cost, so a bookkeeper does not force an upgrade.
  • Early includes W-9 and 1099 management, sales tax, and bank reconciliation, then stops at 20 invoices and 5 bills, so a busy month ends it.
  • Growing includes auto-reconcile and lifts those caps, and Established adds multiple currencies and project tracking for jobs or foreign bills.

Cons

  • Auto-reconcile on Early is an optional $5/mo, and Inventory Plus publishes no list price, so a stock LLC cannot budget that add-on.
  • Payroll, powered by Gusto, is $36/mo plus $6 per employee or contractor on top of the ledger, the real cost of an S-corp election here.
3 Zoho Books logo

Zoho Books

A free organization while revenue stays under the cap, then a 3-user plan before inventory.

Pricing
Free under $50,000 revenue; Standard is $15/mo billed annually.

Best for: Small LLCs that can live under the revenue cap or on 3 users

Pros

  • The free plan is 1 user plus 1 accountant, and up to 1,000 invoices a year, while revenue stays under the cap, which suits an LLC that has not cleared it.
  • Standard includes 3 users, so two members and a bookkeeper fit before you buy another seat.
  • Professional, at $40/mo on an annual bill, adds inventory and purchases and includes 5 users, so stock is a tier change.

Cons

  • Extra users are $3/mo, or $2.50/mo billed annually, and 50 more receipt scans are $10/mo, or $8/mo on an annual bill, so receipts can cost more than the seat.
  • Paid plans come with a 14-day trial, and Zoho does not state that a second organization is included in the first fee.
4 FreshBooks logo

FreshBooks

Accountant access starts on Plus, and the client cap still counts people you no longer bill.

Pricing
Lite $23/mo (5 clients). Plus $43/mo with accountant access. Premium $70/mo.

Best for: Service LLCs that live in client invoices, not inventory

Pros

  • Plus lists accountant access, bank reconciliation, and accounting reports, and it covers 50 billable clients, the first plan a CPA can open.
  • Premium removes the client cap and adds project profitability, so a project LLC can see which jobs clear a margin.
  • The trial runs 30 days with no credit card, and FreshBooks refunds you if you cancel within 30 days of purchase.

Cons

  • Lite does not list accountant access, so the entry plan is the wrong buy when a CPA has to open the file.
  • Team members are $11/mo each, archived clients count toward the cap, and Select, which includes two team logins, publishes no list price.
5 Patriot Accounting logo

Patriot Accounting

Flat accounting prices with payroll next door, and a hard stop when a payee has no US address.

Pricing
Basic $20/mo, Premium $30/mo. 30 days free, then 50% off for 3 months.

Best for: US LLCs that pay contractors or employees from the same vendor

Pros

  • Basic includes unlimited customers and invoices, automatic bank imports, and reconciliation, and it is unlimited-user software, so a second member is not a seat fee.
  • You can create and print 1099s and 1096s without an added software charge, which covers contractor year-end for a domestic LLC.
  • A report toggle switches between cash and accrual, so members can read cash while the CPA works the accrual close.

Cons

  • Every vendor, customer, and contractor needs a US address, so a foreign contractor with no US address cannot be entered.
  • User permissions, subaccounts, and receipt storage sit on Premium, and 1099 e-filing may add a fee Patriot does not publish.
6 Wave logo

Wave

No subscription fee until you want a bank feed or a collaborator who is not your tax pro.

Pricing
Starter has no subscription fee. Pro is $19/mo, or $190/year, per business.

Best for: Single-member LLCs with one company and a simple close

Pros

  • Starter includes unlimited estimates, invoices, bills, and bookkeeping records, priced at $0/mo, which holds if you type the bank activity yourself.
  • A payroll manager or a Block Advisors tax pro can be invited on Starter, while admin, editor, and viewer roles are Pro.
  • Pro adds automatic bank import, receipt capture, and those collaborator roles, billed monthly or as one annual charge per business.

Cons

  • The Pro fee is per business, so two LLCs under one login are two subscriptions rather than one shared company file.
  • Card payments are 2.9% plus $0.60, and Starter does not auto-import bank transactions, so you type the feed on the free plan.
7 OneUp logo

OneUp

You pay for seats, not features, so inventory is on the first paid plan rather than a higher tier.

Pricing
From $9/mo for 1 user and $29/mo for 3. All features on every plan.

Best for: Small LLCs that want inventory on the first paid seat

Pros

  • Every plan includes all features, covering accounting, invoicing, inventory, and CRM, so inventory does not wait for a higher tier.
  • The 3-user plan covers an owner, a bookkeeper, and an accountant without a feature upgrade.
  • The trial is 30 days, with unlimited users during the trial and no credit card required, so you can staff the file before you pay.

Cons

  • The bill climbs at 2, 3, 7, and unlimited users even though features do not change, and the unlimited plan is $169/mo.
  • There is no ongoing free plan after the trial, so a quiet LLC pays to keep the books online.
8 Sage 50 logo

Sage 50

Inventory and job costing from the first plan, if one user is enough, otherwise you pay for Premium.

Pricing
Pro $132.17/mo (1 user). Premium $182.50/mo (up to 5 users). One-year term.

Best for: Established LLCs with stock, job costs, or a second company

Pros

  • Pro includes inventory, purchase orders, job management, and automated bank reconciliation for a single user, so stock alone does not force Premium.
  • Premium covers 1 to 5 users, multiple companies, serialized inventory, and an audit trail, the plan when two LLCs share one subscription.
  • Sage will import QuickBooks data at no charge, and a new subscription can be refunded within 30 days.

Cons

  • There is no trial, the subscription is annual, and if payment stops the company file goes read-only.
  • Integrated payroll publishes no list price, while a desktop Pro bundle that includes payroll is $1,155/year and is a different product from the monthly plans.

What it is

Bookkeeping software for an LLC is a ledger that keeps the company's income, expenses, and balance sheet separate from the owner's personal accounts.

A CPA has to be able to open that file at tax time.

A single-member LLC is often disregarded for tax, so the activity lands on the owner's return, and the company still needs its own books.

A multi-member LLC is usually a partnership unless it elects otherwise, so the close needs equity accounts and a balance sheet.

An LLC taxed as an S corp generally adds payroll for owner wages, so price that add-on before you choose a logo.

A foreign-owned single-member LLC has a separate filing, covered in the Form 5472 guide.

Confirm the classification with a CPA before you buy a payroll add-on.

How you pay yourself is covered in how to pay yourself from an LLC.

How we compared: eight ledgers a US LLC actually shortlists, read on vendor pricing and plan-limit pages in October 2026.

The rank follows who can log in, where classes and a second company appear, and what owner payroll costs, because those three decide whether the cheap plan survives the year. This is not a cheapest-first sort, and that cut is the cheapest accounting software guide.

Why it matters

The plan that looks cheap fails when the preparer cannot log in. QuickBooks Free has no accountant access, so the preparer cannot close the year on it.

FreshBooks does not list accountant access on Lite, so the firm has no accountant login on that plan.

Wave Starter will host a Block Advisors tax pro or a payroll manager, while admin, editor, and viewer roles require Pro.

A single-member LLC whose only extra person is the CPA should buy the plan that names that seat.

A year of Simple Start at list price is $456, which buys one operator and two accountant users, with no classes.

A year of Xero Early, inside the 20-invoice and 5-bill caps, is $324, and only if you stay inside those caps.

Zoho's free organization costs nothing while financial-year revenue stays under the cap, with one user and one accountant.

Those three suit a single-member LLC until a bookkeeper needs a login.

For a two-member service LLC, an owner, a bookkeeper, and a CPA, with more than 20 invoices a month and no inventory, compare the list-price year.

Patriot Accounting Basic and Zoho Books Standard, paid month to month, are both $20/mo, or $240 for the year, the floor if the preparer will take either file.

Wave Pro is $190 for the year on annual billing, and the fee is per business, so a second LLC is a second bill.

FreshBooks Plus is $516 for the year before a team-member seat.

Xero Growing is $708 for the year once Early's invoice cap is too tight. QuickBooks Online Essentials is $1,020 for the year for three billable users and no classes.

Sage 50 Premium, the first Sage plan with up to five users and more than one company, is $2,190 for the year.

Those totals ignore intro offers: QuickBooks and Patriot discount the first three months, Xero discounts the first three months on a first US organization, and FreshBooks discounts the first four months.

The ongoing rate is the number to budget, because the offer ends and the renewal is list price.

OneUp's 3-user plan is $29/mo, $348 for the year, with the same features as the 1-user plan, so you pay for seats rather than inventory. When a price moves, the note goes out in the Finpresso daily brief.

Key features to look for

A login the preparer can use
The CPA's seat decides the plan: QuickBooks Free excludes accountants, and FreshBooks lists that access from Plus up. Zoho's free plan includes one accountant, and Wave holds editor access for Pro unless the guest is a tax pro or payroll manager.
Seats for a second member
A second member changes the bill: Simple Start is one billable user and Essentials is three, while Xero includes unlimited general users on every plan. Zoho Standard includes three users, and OneUp and FreshBooks charge for each extra person.
Classes, inventory, and a second LLC
A second company, or stock, is where the entry plan ends. Classes and inventory start on QuickBooks Plus, and Sage 50 Premium is the plan that includes multiple companies. A second Xero organization is another subscription, and Wave Pro bills once per business.
1099s and owner payroll
Owner wages are not hiding inside the ledger price. Xero includes W-9 and 1099 tools on Early, and Patriot prints 1099s and 1096s in the accounting product. Payroll is a separate line on Xero, Patriot, and FreshBooks, which is what an S-corp election costs.
The cap that ends the cheap plan
A cap, not the sticker, pushes an LLC off the cheap plan. Zoho's free plan ends at a revenue ceiling, and Xero Early ends at 20 invoices and 5 bills. FreshBooks Lite and Plus end at a client count that includes archived clients, and Sage's entry plan ends at one user.

Pricing

Budget the list price, not the intro, because the discount covers the first months and the renewal is what you pay.

QuickBooks Online and Patriot show 50% off for three months.

Xero shows 80% off for three months on the first US organization, then $27/mo, $59/mo, or $97/mo.

Xero's three-month intro prices are $5.40, $11.80, and $19.40. FreshBooks shows 80% off for four months, while Wave, Zoho, OneUp, and Sage do not discount the ongoing rate that way.

The year-long totals above use list price after those intro months end, and they leave payroll out.

Xero's Gusto add-on and FreshBooks Payroll are separate charges from the ledger plan. Patriot Basic Payroll is $17/mo plus $4 per worker paid.

Sage publishes no list price for its DIY payroll module.

A second company shares one subscription only on Sage Premium, while Wave charges Pro per business and Xero sells each extra organization as its own plan.

QuickBooks user caps come from Intuit's usage limits article, updated August 5, 2026.

Unlimited users on Xero are stated on the US small-business page. Zoho's caps are on the US pricing page.

Patriot's address rule and the cash-or-accrual toggle are on the accounting page.

Sage's term is on the Sage 50 pricing page.

OneUp's seat prices are on OneUp's pricing page. Wave's per-business fee is on Wave's pricing page. All of those pages were read in October 2026.

PlanPriceBest for
QuickBooks Online Free$0/mo1 user, no accountant access, 2 invoices a month, 1 bank
QuickBooks Online Simple Start$38/mo1 billable user and 2 accountant users, no classes
QuickBooks Online Essentials$85/mo3 billable users, still no classes or inventory
QuickBooks Online Plus$140/mo5 billable users, inventory, 40 classes and locations
QuickBooks Online Advanced$340/mo25 billable users, unlimited classes, 1099 e-filing included
Xero Early$27/mo20 invoices, 5 bills, 1099s, sales tax, unlimited users
Xero Growing$59/moInvoice and bill caps lifted, auto-reconcile included
Xero Established$97/moMultiple currencies, projects, and employee expenses
Zoho Books Free$0/mo1 user and 1 accountant while revenue stays under $50,000
Zoho Books Standard$20/mo ($15/mo annual)3 users for a small multi-member close
Zoho Books Professional$50/mo ($40/mo annual)5 users, with inventory and purchase handling
FreshBooks Lite$23/mo5 billable clients, accountant access not on the plan card
FreshBooks Plus$43/mo50 clients, accountant access, and accounting reports
FreshBooks Premium$70/moUnlimited clients and project profitability
FreshBooks team member$11/moExtra person on top of Lite, Plus, or Premium
Wave Starter$0/moUnlimited invoices and records, no bank auto-import
Wave Pro$19/mo or $190/yearBank auto-import and collaborator roles, billed per business
Patriot Accounting Basic$20/moBank import, reconciliation, and unlimited users
Patriot Accounting Premium$30/moUser permissions, subaccounts, and recurring invoices
Sage 50 Pro$132.17/mo1 user, inventory, and a one-year commitment
Sage 50 Premium$182.50/moUp to 5 users and more than one company
Sage 50 Quantum$271.17/moUp to 40 users and role-based permissions
OneUp, 1 user$9/moFull feature set, including inventory on the first seat
OneUp, 2 users$19/moSame features, second seat for a partner or preparer
OneUp, 3 users$29/moOwner, bookkeeper, and accountant on one plan
OneUp, unlimited users$169/moSame features with no seat cap
Mistakes to avoid
×Opening QuickBooks Free because the LLC is new leaves the preparer without a login, and the invoice cap stays at 2 a month until Payments is enabled.
×Assuming one Wave Pro subscription covers two LLCs, when that plan is billed once per business, so the second company is a second bill.
×Buying Sage 50 Pro for a two-person close, because that plan is one user and the term is a year, which locks the second person out for the whole term.
×Treating FreshBooks Lite as the bookkeeping plan, when accountant access starts at Plus and archived clients still occupy a slot.
Expert tips
→If the CPA will only take a QuickBooks file, start on Simple Start or Essentials and stop comparing cheaper ledgers, because the handoff is the constraint.
→If the LLC will be taxed as an S corp, price payroll before you price the ledger. Patriot, Xero, and FreshBooks each publish an add-on, and QuickBooks Solopreneur is a different product from the Online plans on this page.
→A foreign-owned LLC should settle the Form 5472 filing before picking Patriot, because Patriot requires a US address on every vendor, customer, and contractor.

The bottom line

Start with QuickBooks Online when the preparer already lives there: Simple Start for one operator and two accountant users, Essentials for three billable users, and Plus when the file needs classes or inventory.

Move to Xero when unlimited users matter more than the QuickBooks habit, and to Zoho Books when the company is still under the revenue cap or fits in three users.

Pick FreshBooks Plus for a service LLC that bills clients and needs the CPA in the file.

Pick Patriot when US payroll and 1099 printing should sit with the ledger, and skip it when a contractor has no US address.

Use Wave for one simple company, OneUp when inventory has to be on the first seat, and Sage 50 Premium when two companies should share one subscription.

The wider free-tier cut is best free accounting software.

Outsourced closes are best online bookkeeping services, and the AI layer is best AI for bookkeeping.

Plan-by-plan ladders sit in QuickBooks Online pricing, Xero pricing, and FreshBooks pricing. Formation, which this page does not cover, is best LLC formation services. Cite this: Finpresso, "Best Bookkeeping Software for LLCs in 2026", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best bookkeeping software for an LLC in 2026?

QuickBooks Online is the default for a US LLC, because it is the file most preparers already use. Simple Start at $38/mo fits a single-member LLC with one login and two accountant users, and a second member has already outgrown it. A company that needs classes or inventory moves to Plus at $140/mo. Choose Xero, Zoho Books, or Patriot when the preparer will accept another file and the login count favors them.

How much does bookkeeping software cost for an LLC?

At list price, a two-member service LLC with a bookkeeper and a CPA pays $240 for the year on Patriot Basic or on Zoho Standard billed monthly, the floor if either file is acceptable. Wave Pro billed annually is $190 for the year, FreshBooks Plus is $516, Xero Growing is $708, and QuickBooks Essentials is $1,020. Sage 50 Premium is $2,190 for the year, which is the plan that covers more than one company. Intro discounts cut the first three or four months on QuickBooks, Xero, Patriot, and FreshBooks, then the list price returns.

Is there free bookkeeping software for an LLC?

Zoho Books is free while financial-year revenue stays under $50,000, with one user and one accountant, which is the free ledger that still gives the CPA a seat. Wave Starter has no subscription fee, and the bank feed is on Pro, so the free plan means typing transactions. QuickBooks Free has no accountant login, so it fails the usual CPA handoff. None of the eight is a free payroll system. The longer comparison is the best free accounting software guide.

QuickBooks Online vs Xero for an LLC: which fits?

QuickBooks Online wins when the preparer insists on that file, or when you need classes and inventory on Plus. Xero wins when the owner, a bookkeeper, and the CPA all need logins, because every plan includes unlimited general users and 1099 tools, so headcount does not force an upgrade. Early is the wrong Xero plan once you send more than 20 invoices or enter more than 5 bills a month. The head-to-head write-up is the QuickBooks vs Xero post.

What should a single-member LLC use?

Use Simple Start, Xero Early, or Zoho's free plan when the only extra person is the CPA and invoice volume fits Early's cap. A year of Simple Start at list price is $456, which is two accountant seats and no classes. A year of Early is $324, and only while you stay inside the invoice and bill caps. Wave Starter works if you enter the bank activity yourself and your tax pro can use the Block Advisors seat, while QuickBooks Free has no accountant access and cannot make that handoff.

What if the LLC is taxed as an S corp?

Price payroll with the ledger, because an S-corp election usually means owner wages on top of the books. Patriot Basic Payroll is $17/mo plus $4 per worker paid, Full Service Payroll is $37/mo plus $5 per worker, and each additional state on full service is $12/mo. Xero and FreshBooks publish their own payroll add-ons on the pricing pages above, Sage publishes no list price for DIY payroll, and QuickBooks Solopreneur is a different product from these Online plans. Confirm with a CPA that the election actually requires owner wages before you add that line.

Can one subscription cover two LLCs?

Sage 50 Premium includes multiple companies on one plan, the subscription on this list built for two companies. Wave Pro does not: the fee is per business, so two LLCs are two Pro bills. Xero treats each organization as its own subscription, and the 80% intro applies only to the first US organization. Zoho lets you add another organization, and does not state that the second one is included in the first plan's fee.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the Finpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free