QuickBooks Solopreneur Review
What Intuit's Solopreneur tiers cost in 2026, where the free and Lite limits bite, and when Wave, Zoho Books or FreshBooks costs less.
QuickBooks Solopreneur is worth it only on its Lite tier, which lists at $20 a month, and only when receipts and mileage outgrow the free plan. Intuit's Solopreneur page lists Lite with a 50% promo shown for three months, and no page we read prints a Solopreneur price.
For one owner who needs both unlimited receipts and mileage tracking, Lite removes both caps. Invoices alone do not justify it, because Wave Starter is free with unlimited invoices. Wave Pro at $190 a year billed annually costs less than Lite even with the promo, and it adds bank import. Lite has no accountant login, and the pages do not state its bank connection limit.
Zoho Books Free costs $0 while revenue stays under $50,000 a year, and it includes one accountant seat. Choose Simple Start instead if you need two accountant seats, since it sits above Lite.
Key factsBest for: One owner who needs unlimited receipts and mileage, and no…
- Intuit's one-owner tier: unlimited invoices, receipts and mileage on Lite, with no accountant access and no printed Solopreneur price.
- Free plan invoices: 2 a month
- Accountant access on Lite: None
- Alternatives covered: Wave, Zoho Books, FreshBooks, Xero
Pros
- Lite removes the free plan's caps: unlimited invoices, receipts and mileage, against 2, 2 and 5 a month on Free.
- Mileage sits in the same file as the invoices, and the Wave and Zoho pricing pages we read list no mileage line.
- Three contractors on Lite against one on Free, which matters for 1099 payments.
Cons
- No accountant login on Lite. Simple Start adds two accountant seats.
- Lite's bank connection limit is not stated, and the promo is printed on the product page but not in Intuit's discount terms.
- The word Solopreneur sits beside no price on the pages we read, so the tier you pay for carries a different name.
Pay for Lite when mileage and receipts are the reason, not for the name. Intuit sells the product under the Solopreneur name, but the price sits on the Lite tier, and the word Solopreneur appears beside no price on any page we read on October 10, 2026.
That split matters because the free plan stops at two invoices, two receipts and five mileage trips a month, and the limit you hit decides the plan: invoices point to Wave's free plan, while receipts and mileage point to Lite.
Methodology: we read Intuit's pricing, Solopreneur, free-plan and discount pages, plus each alternative's own pricing page, on October 10, 2026.
Prices are USD and monthly unless a page says otherwise.
Where a page prints no price or limit, this review says so instead of filling the gap.
Toolradar data: Toolradar's accounting directory counts 268 tools as of October 10, 2026, and 26% of them are free, freemium or open source (the accounting ranking).
That share describes the whole category, not what Intuit includes, so the rest of this review reads Intuit's terms line by line.
What is QuickBooks Solopreneur?
QuickBooks Solopreneur is Intuit's bookkeeping product for one person running a business as a sole proprietor or freelancer. The Solopreneur page aims it at self-employed people running a one-person business.
The product sits beside the free plan and the paid QuickBooks Online tiers.
Intuit's main pricing page lists Free, Simple Start, Essentials, Plus and Advanced, and the per-plan figures are in QuickBooks Online Pricing in 2026. The Solopreneur page adds a Lite tier between Free and Simple Start, and that tier carries the price most solo owners will pay.
Toolradar profiles: QuickBooks, Wave and Zoho Books.
How QuickBooks Solopreneur works
Start on Free if you send two invoices a month or fewer. The Free plan has one user, no accountant access, two invoices a month (unlimited once you enable QuickBooks Payments), two receipts a month, five mileage trips a month, one contractor and one connected bank account.
The free plan is covered in full in Is QuickBooks Free in 2026?.
Lite is the first paid step. The Solopreneur page prints a higher original price beside the promo price, with "50% off for 3 months" under the price.
Lite gives one user, no accountant access, unlimited invoices, receipts and mileage, and three contractors. The plan is described as "Automate solopreneur finances and save on taxes with expert help," which is the closest the site comes to naming Lite as the Solopreneur plan.
Simple Start is the step up for an accountant login.
Intuit's pricing page lists it at $38 a month with 50% off for three months, shown at $19, with one user and two accountant seats.
The trial is the next question.
Intuit's free-plan page says a 30-day trial gives "full access to any paid plan, Simple Start through Advanced." Lite is not named there, so Intuit's pages do not tell us whether the trial covers Lite.
QuickBooks Solopreneur key features
QuickBooks Solopreneur pricing
Intuit prints the Lite monthly price on the Solopreneur page. The annual price is not printed on the pages we read, so the monthly figures are the only Intuit prices we could confirm. The checkout summary on the pricing page lists "No annual contract" and "Cancel anytime."
The promo changes the year-one bill.
At the list price, twelve months of Lite cost $240. If the 50% promo applies, year one costs $210: $10 for three months, then the list price for nine.
Intuit's discount terms say that after three months you are charged "at the then-current price" until you cancel, and that Intuit can modify or terminate the offer at any time.
No end date is printed.
The alternatives set the bar. Wave Pro costs $190 a year billed annually, and Zoho Books Free costs $0 while revenue stays under the cap.
On a one-owner file that needs a bank feed, Wave Pro is the cheaper paid choice, and Zoho is the cheaper free one.
The Wave review covers its bank feed terms, the Zoho Books review covers the free file's limits, and FreshBooks is compared head to head in QuickBooks vs FreshBooks.
| Plan | Price | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Free | Free | 1 user, 2 invoices and 2 receipts a month, 5 mileage trips, one connected bank account, no accountant access |
| QuickBooks Solopreneur Lite | $20/mo list | Unlimited invoices, receipts and mileage, 3 contractors, 1 user, no accountant access. The 50% promo is printed on the page but not in Intuit's discount terms |
| QuickBooks Simple Start | $38/mo list | 1 user, 2 accountant seats, 50% off for three months shown at $19 |
| Wave Starter | Free | Unlimited invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. Receipt capture and automatic bank import sit on Pro |
| Wave Pro, monthly | $19/mo | Bank import through Plaid where the bank supports it, receipt capture and admin roles |
| Wave Pro, annual | $190/yr | Pro features billed annually, per business |
| Zoho Books Free | Free | 1 user and 1 accountant seat, 1,000 invoices a year, 50 receipt scans a month, free while revenue stays under the cap |
| FreshBooks Lite | $23/mo list | $1/mo for the first year under the Solopreneur offer, 5 billable clients, automated bank import, no accountant access listed |
| Xero Early | $27/mo list | 20 invoices and 5 bills a month, bank reconciliation included, 80% off for the first three months |
QuickBooks Solopreneur pros and cons
What we like
- Lite removes the free plan's caps: unlimited invoices, receipts and mileage, against 2, 2 and 5 a month on Free.
- Mileage sits in the same file as the invoices, and the Wave and Zoho pricing pages we read list no mileage line.
- Three contractors on Lite against one on Free, which matters for 1099 payments.
What could be better
- No accountant login on Lite. Simple Start adds two accountant seats.
- Lite's bank connection limit is not stated, and the promo is printed on the product page but not in Intuit's discount terms.
- The word Solopreneur sits beside no price on the pages we read, so the tier you pay for carries a different name.
Who QuickBooks Solopreneur is for
Lite fits one owner who keeps more than two receipts and logs more than five mileage trips a month, and who does not need an accountant inside the file. A freelancer with a few clients and a mileage habit is the typical case.
If an accountant must log in, Simple Start is the next step, and it adds two accountant seats.
For more paid alternatives, see cheaper QuickBooks alternatives.
Skip Solopreneur if the owner has no mileage to track, if the bank feed is the main job (Wave Pro does that for less than Lite at list), or if the only need is invoices.
Zoho Books Free costs nothing while revenue stays under the cap, and Invoice Ninja's free plan allows five clients with unlimited invoicing.
The freelancer ranking is in best invoicing software for freelancers, and every free tool is ranked in best free accounting software.
Best QuickBooks Solopreneur alternatives
If QuickBooks Solopreneur is not the right fit, these are the closest options.
| Tool | Best for | Starts at | |
|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Solopreneur | One owner who needs unlimited receipts and mileage, and no accountant login. | Lite $20/mo list, $10/mo for 3 months on the promo | Visit → |
| Wave | One-entity owners who want a free ledger and will pay for the bank feed. | Starter free | Visit → |
| Zoho Books | One owner who wants a $0 file with one accountant seat, under the revenue cap. | Free while revenue stays under $50,000 | Visit → |
| FreshBooks | Service owners who bill clients and will pay for bank import, with no accountant login listed. | Lite $23/mo list, $1/mo for the first year under the Solopreneur offer | Visit → |
| Xero | An owner who wants bank reconciliation and can live with a 20-invoice cap on the entry plan. | Early $27/mo list, $5.40/mo for 3 months | Visit → |
The bottom line
Buy Lite only when mileage and unlimited receipts are the reason. Otherwise a free file serves the owner better: Zoho Books Free if an accountant seat matters and revenue stays under $50,000, and Wave Starter if you will key the bank file yourself.
For a one-owner business that needs a bank feed, Wave Pro billed annually costs less than Lite at list.
Before you pay, confirm three things at checkout: the plan name you are buying, whether the 50% promo applies to Lite, and Lite's bank connection limit, which the pages we read do not state.
Check Intuit's Solopreneur page and its discount terms on the day you sign up.
This page is general information, not personalized financial advice.
Software plans and promos change, so check current terms with each vendor.
Cite this: Finpresso, "QuickBooks Solopreneur Review 2026: Price, Limits and Who Should Skip It", October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Sources
Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.
- Zoho Books pricingchecked Sep 2026
- FreshBooks pricingchecked Sep 2026
- Xero pricingchecked Sep 2026
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
Get the Finpresso brief
Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.
Subscribe free